Inklings

“The eye sees only what the mind is prepared to comprehend” —  Henri Bergson

Have you ever had an inkling?  That inner voice which tells you something is occurring, or is about to occur?  It can be perceived as a feeling that won’t go away, as a thought that tickles in the back of your mind, the sensation of the hairs on the back of your neck standing up.

This how I came to face the fact that I had Parkinson’s Disease.  Given the publicity Parkinson’s was receiving at the time, by prominent people suffering from the disease, and the ongoing stem cell debate, I was aware of the disease and its symptoms.  One day I came across a survey of questions, which when answered, would indicate the likelihood of having the disease.  I took the survey and it did not indicate that I had it.  Taking the quiz was not the inkling, however.  That I should take it was.

Now, I don’t know whether my inkling was so strong that it led me to take the survey before the disease was advanced enough to be diagnosed.   Or whether I wasn’t being truthful to myself in my answers to the questions.  As the above quote states, the eye sees only what the mind is prepared to comprehend.  In my case, my subconscious mind was way ahead of my conscious mind on this one.

It was only when other people remarked on my walking, and the slight tremor I had(which I attributed to  the anxiety I had been recently diagnosed with) began to be more prominent, that I realized my body was trying to tell me something — trying to tell me something was at work in my brain, causing me harm.

And so when, finally heeding that inkling, I received my diagnosis , instead of feeling a bomb had just been dropped on me, it was more like knowing it had been dropped some time ago and only now was I feeling the effects.

So what does all this have to do with staying in focus?  Well an inkling functions like the button we push on a camera to focus the lens for a clear, crisp picture.  An inkling serves to open our eyes and alert the senses.  After all, you know your body better than anyone else.  If you have a strong inkling about something, investigate it. It just might save your life. And keep you in focus.

Leave a Reply

