Focus On: Photoshop Elements 10

I Have  been so busy I have neglected my blog.  I was finishing up an internet course on using Photoshop Elements 10.  I completed my coursework yesterday, took my exam and  achieved a 100%!  I have learned so much from this course.  It is offered by my local community college, but is a part of  www.ed2go.com.  If you access this website, you can take the courses directly from them or from a local college in your area.  You receive 2 lessons a week for 6 weeks.  The lessons include assignments, quizzes, resources and supplementary materials.  A discussion section is also provided to discuss coursework with the Instructor, course administrator and classmates.  The courses are reasonably priced for the amount of material and knowledge you receive. They offer courses in career and professional development, writing and publishing, computers and technology and personal development.  I plan to take a course in writing poetry next.  It’s a great way to keep the old brain challenged and teaches creativity and artistic expression. Here are some of the things I learned to do with Photoshop Elements 10:    (All photos except the last one are copyrighted materials. The last one is mine, copyright pc 2012)

Using the lasso tool, I added some green apples.

Here I turned Mt. Rainier into an active volcano!

The challenge here was to reduce the shadow on a backlit subject and change the photo to a sepia toned picture

In this one, removing the large cracks in the foreground allows you to focus on the mountains.

In Elements 10, the sky can be any color you choose!

In this one I added a border and text

This is a photo I took in Alaska. Very ho-hum, as the sky was overcast and the radio tower distracting, so I played with it a little, adding some snow, a blue sky and painting out the tower. Much better!

Leave a Reply

