Daily Prompt: The Green-eyed Monster

Daily Prompt: The Green-eyed Monster:

I am not a jealous person in general. I don’t yearn for material things to the point of jealousy. But I must admit to a weak moment or two, when I see people walking  or running with such ease, not even aware of what a gift that is. Having been diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease six years ago, there  are days when it’s harder to move than others, and only with medication  and  lots of exercise is it possible to walk  at all. Running and playing tennis, even driving, are activities I have had to let go. And as this disease is progressive, if  a cure is not found, I may lose my ability to walk completely . For the  most part, I try to live in the moment and  not worry about things beyond my control. I just enjoy each beautiful day as it unfolds, and I try not to let jealousy creep in. Rather, I want to shout out to others to celebrate their good health, and enjoy simple things like walking and moving. I am thankful for so many other gifts I have and there are people who suffer with illnesses far worse than PD. Jealousy is merely wasting precious time, I remind myself. I don’t have time for it.

8 comments

  1. Yes … being a runner myself I sometimes forget how lucky I am to be able to move the way I do – I actually posted about that today – I’m so happy I read this! Anyhoo, just seeing what others wrote on jealousy -this is one of my favorite prompts!

Leave a Reply

