Staying in Focus: Daily Prompt: Standout: Hats On

Daily  Prompt: Standout  When was the last time you really stood out in a crowd? Are you comfortable in that position, or do you wish you could fade into the woodwork?

I really am not comfortable standing out in a crowd, but sometimes I do feel eyes on me because of my hats.  I really do not know why more people don’t wear them, for more often than not, someone will complement me on them.

Hats have their utilitarian uses – a bad hair day or a bad hair cut can always be remedied by a wearing a pretty hat. Hats protect you from harmful UV rays, keep your head warm in the winter and dry in a downpour.

Hats have other uses, too. They are simply fun to wear and you feel like a different person in different types of hats. Wearing my turquoise cowboy hat makes me happy, my Vera Bradley hats add color to my world; if I wear my bucket hat, I feel sort of casual and laid back, my big-brimmed hats, fashionable, my new green hat, woven in Ireland,  reminds me of being on vacation, My floppy hat means a day in the sun, my fedoras are  a touch sophisticated, My wide-brimmed straw hat means time to garden.

When I was in high school, my friends and I would go to the Kresge store and try on hats just for fun. In those days I had a head of thick, curly hair, and hats didn’t work as well for me then. When I wore them I would get a serious case of hat head. But now that my hair is less full and I straighten it, hats are much easier to wear. I still cannot pass a hat rack without trying some on.

Above all there is something about wearing a hat that boosts your self-assurance.  So if you are tired of being a shrinking violet, of blending into the crowd, a turquoise cowboy hat sure  beats going into therapy. Feeling down depressed or blue – buy a hat and stroll down the street as if you own it.  Add a smile and you’ll be standing out!  (See post 1/11/2013 for more on hats)

IMG_9904 IMG_9903IMG_2097bill and pat alabama

IMG_9422ajpg IMG_2096 - Copy - Copy IMG_2094 IMG_2091 - CopyIMG_9899

2 comments

Leave a Reply

