Daily Prompt: Bookworms/Staying in Focus: Books: My Timeline

Daily Prompt: Bookworms:Photographers, artists, poets: show us BOOKS.

IMG_2223IMG_2227

Books: A TImeline

Picture books were the seed

Dick and Jane taught me to read

See Dick. Run Jane. See Spot Run.

The Bobbsey Twins were lots of fun

The Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew

The Five Little Peppers and How They Grew

Little Women, Little Men

I really should read them all again.

The Black Stallion books by William Farley

where horses were the heart of the story

The Adventures of Tom Swift swept me away

to places unknown on warm summer days

Ann of Green Gables was a charm

as was Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm

and Heidi and Lassie and Peter Pan

friends I would visit again and again

I fell in love with the written word

and with Scout in To Kill a Mockingbird

and my all-time favorite heroine

is Scarlett O’Hara of Gone With the Wind

not to mention my addiction

to so many books of science fiction

I could go on forever and ever

and never remember all of the treasure

of wonderful books  that have filled my days

with joy and contentment in so many ways

books are among my cherished friends

they bring to me adventure without end

and drama, humor, a touch of mystery

romance, thrillers, Shakespeare, poetry

to read a book engages your mind

the best way of all to pass the time!

-pc 2013

2 comments

Leave a Reply

