Staying in Focus: Daily Prompt: Back to Life: Let’ s be Real

Daily Prompt: After an especially long and exhausting drive or flight, a grueling week at work, or a mind-numbing exam period — what’s the one thing you do to feel human again?

After a grueling day or a mind numbing experience, my first thought is to go home. Home is a refuge from the world. Close the blinds, lock the doors and the world fades away, at least for a little while. Ideally, here is what I would do next: Change into my exercise clothes and do some yoga or tai chi, focus my attention inward, stretch the muscles, concentrate on the moves, blocking out intrusive thoughts. A nice warm bath, some candles, soft music on the iPod, most likely Enya, would follow. My next level of escape would be meditation, provided the preceding events have chilled me enough to focus my attention. Lastly, a good book and a good night’s sleep.

But let’s be real for a minute. More than likely this is how it would pan out:  I would go home, and spend the evening reading, while devouring something dreadful for me like ice cream or donuts or a slice of chocolate cake and a frosty glass of milk, or maybe brownies or an Entenmann’s crumb cake, or… you get my drift, which is in the direction of the nearest grocery store…

4 comments

Leave a Reply

