Staying in Focus: Singing the Blues

We have just returned from a wonderful week in the Blue Ridge Mountains. If nothing else, the photos I took this week certainly explain why they are named  the Blue Ridge  mountains:IMG_3615 IMG_3608 IMG_3609 IMG_3490 IMG_3493 IMG_3503IMG_3469 IMG_3476 IMG_3477

The following poems were written in the Blue Ridge Mountains, the first in 1997 and the second on this visit in 2014.

The  mountains gather round me

endless folds of smoky blue

and the sun ignites

the crystal drops

of early morning dew;

wisps of misty water vapor

wreathe a distant mountain peak

and I sense a deep connection

with the spirit that I seek;

in the mountains

in the places

of the wild and the free

are the answers to the questions

that so often elude me

so I come for grace and comfort

and I come for sweet release

my spirit needs the mountains

here I find my inner peace.

 

 

when the mountains beckon

I know that I must go

to the places where the

land is lifts up,

and crystal waters flow ;

where what I see brings peace to me

and I at  last can find

a haven where, most easily

I can rest my weary mind.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

