Staying in Focus: Moving Day for PD

I just learned that Robin Williams had recently been diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease. I truly hope he did not take his life in despair over this diagnosis. As yet, there is no cure for PD, but the early symptoms are treatable. Organizations like the National Parkinson’s Foundation and the MJFF are working to raise money to fund the researchers working every day to find us a cure.

Although having PD is no walk in the park, a walk in the park can go a long way in helping to find a cure. I invite you to join my team, Pat’s Patrol, for a walk at the Koka Booth Amphitheatre in Cary, NC on Saturday, November 1st to raise both money and awareness for the fight against PD. Other cities around the nation also have similar programs.

For those of us in the Raleigh/Durham area, this event is called Moving Day NC Triangle and you can register at http://www.MovingDayNCTriangle. Org, or call 1.800.4PD.INFO. If you register online just click on word team on the right hand side and type in Pat’s Patrol to find our team page.

In addition to walking, there will be other movement classes – yoga, tai chi, etc. to get all of us up and moving – moving toward a cure for PD. To anyone newly diagnosed with PD, I’d like to say that there is life after the diagnosis and getting involved is therapeutic, that there is cause for hope – hope for better treatment options and hope for a cure.

I take my meds regularly, lift weights, do yoga and tai chi and pedal my little cycler above 85 rpms (my neurologist says they do not know how it works on PD, but it does help) and meditate  to keep my spirits up and my outlook positive. I have lived with PD for seven years, and although I’ve had to make adjustments in my life as the disease progresses, I’m doing all I can to slow it down and getting involved in these activities helps me to feel proactive. It’s my chance to be a part of the cure, a chance for friends and family members to show their support, and for all to have fun while coming together for such a worthwhile cause.

So feel free to join our team and come out on November 1st . We’ll walk, we’ll talk, we’ll get moving and have some fun!

(Those in other cities can access the moving day home page at www3.parkinson.org to find out when this event is coming to you.)

2 comments

  1. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this site before but after
    going through some of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m certainly delighted I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back frequently!

  2. Admiring the persistence you put into your blog and detailed information you provide.
    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed
    material. Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your
    RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

