Photo 101: Day 6: Connection

Humans are social beings. We find ourselves compelled to form communities – make connections with other people. These connections may be small –  a connection with a group of friends, a family gathering on Thanksgiving, a book group, a gardening club or a class reunion. We can make connections with larger groups, as well – other societies, cultures and countries. We have access to a world community through the Internet. With it, we have the world at our fingertips.

In this age of technology we can form connections over the Internet, have conversations with people we have not met in person. It was  a little harder, in my day, to keep long distance connections thriving. I have a pen pal with whom I have been connected with since grammar school. She lives in Argentina and I live in the USA, and we have never (yet) met in person. We began by writing letters, and now it is much easier to keep in touch through e-mail. The internet allows us to connect with others who share common interests like photography, poetry and blogging. There are a myriad of support sites. I belong to one for Parkinson’s disease. I can connect with others dealing with the same challenges I have. It is comforting to know I do not fight alone. The compassion and support on this site is amazing. Connections make us feel needed, valued and loved. We must cherish them and nurture them.

I returned to my “picture room” today  (see day 1) and took two photos of picture collages that demonstrate my two” grounding” connections. The connections that keep me grounded and involved in life, that bring me happiness and joy. The first is a wreath collage I made of my childhood family – grandparents, parents and siblings. The second is  a family tree of my own family – husband, sons and grandchildren. These are my most precious connections, the ones I can depend on without question.

IMG_4031a

My First Connection

IMG_4024

My Family Tree

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

